Skip to content

Odds and Ends (basically mindless thoughts) …

09/18/2010

Just some odds and ends about me …

I’ve been a crafter for quite some time.  When I was younger, my oder sister was into crafting.  For years I called her “Iola Boylan” (the skinny neighbor on “Mama’s Family” who would create such things as “toaster cozies” and a Christmas caroler out of a magazine).  If you ever meet my sister just ask her about the beer bottle easter bunnies she made YEARS ago that I still proudly display each easter.  Who knows, they may make an appearance on here someday!!!  See there is a 12 year age diference between she and I and she was into her “settled life” phase WAY before I was.  When she was making beer bottle bunnies, I was out having fun with friends. 

So fast forward a few years to my late 20’s/early 30’s … my dad passed away from cancer when I was 28.   I stayed home and took care of mom for the next 8 years so thus started my “settling down” time.  We lost mom in 2001 and I found myself “on my own” for the first time in 36 years.   Since “Iola” was in the closest proximity to me (We have another sister who lives in Ohio and I’m sure you’ll hear about her in the future and a brother who I was never really close to) she got the pleasure of “inheriting” me after mom passed away.  Well, I guess I didn’t annoy her too much because to this day she still puts up with me!!  Love ya “Iola”!

Since I was spending so much time with her, we would sometimes do “projects” to amuse ourselves.  Thank goodness her family put up (and still does) with BOTH of us.  If you thought the beer bottle bunnies are interesting, I will have to post about the days of burning the ends of plasic spoons over a candle to make flowers.  I have no idea what all we inhaled during THAT project.  Needless to say, when the two of us are together, there is never a dull moment.

Fast forward again to about 5 or 6 years ago … For some reason I decided I wanted to start rubber stamping.  So I did some research and found Splitcoaststampers.  The rest, shall I say is history.  I started showing Iola my projects and she liked them.  So, every once in a while she would say “I need something for the ladies at work” and thus a project session would ensue.  I would design, cut, stamp, color, etc. and then would be get together and she would help with the assembly.  Well, that got tiring.  Finally, I had to put my foot down and say “you try”.  Well, she did.  I have successfully brought her over to the dark side!!!  Grasshopper has taken the pebble from the Master’s hand!

Enough about “Iola” … Eight years ago I married my best friend. 

And I brought a “daughter” into the marriage (Tom hates when I refer to Sophie as his “daughter” so I do it just to annoy him cause that’s just how I am!!)  Well, I was going to insert a picture but I guess I put them on a CD already so a picture of Sophie, our toy poodle, will have to wait for another time!!  Sorry, Soph!

One last pic and I will quit boring you all for while.  This is a photo of my siblings.  “Iola” (Rose) is on the left, Patti in the middle and I am on the right.  Our brother is behind us as he inherited the “tall” gene of the family!!!!

Well, now you know a bit about me.  I plan to lock myself in my stamp room for a good bit of today, so hopefully I will have some actual stamping stuff to put on here soon.

Have a great day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/18/2010 12:05 pm

    thanks for the background…glad you and your sister have time to get together and craft…i corral my daughters and we do cards…and since they both have moved back home it’s even better…and i can’t wait to see your “daughter”…my doggy daughter is my avatar on SCS…be well

    • 09/18/2010 1:40 pm

      Mine is my avatar on SCS, too. I just can’t find that picture of her yet to post. Wll get one up soon tho.

  2. Naomi permalink
    09/20/2010 1:32 pm

    Thanks Hope, I enjoyed getting to know you better.
    You’ll have to show me the beer bottle Easter bunny next year.
    You can let Tom know that I’ve always thought of him as Sophie’s dad, lol.

  3. 09/20/2010 7:55 pm

    Hope,
    So great to read your blog. Welcome to the world of blogging. Love that pic. of you and your siblings.
    I finally got Tim to bring my pc for my last night in here.
    Sue

Leave a Reply

