Skip to content

“Iola’s Card” and Stink bugs …

09/21/2010

This is my card for the day … I made this for “Iola”.  She likes the cards/style of Sharon Johnson (NoTimeToStamp on SCS).  I was experimenting with Sharon’s style and came up with this:

Rose (Iola) liked it and that was my goal.  I’m so glad I could make her smile …. she deserves it.

Onto the other topic of this post … stink bugs.  Those nasty little creatures are driving me insane.  On Sunday I killed at least 30 of them.  If you don’t know what these are, do a quick internet search.  They don’t bite, they don’t nest in the house and they don’t carry disease.  But they sure are nasty. 

I was doing some research on line yesterday and one of the comments I saw was where someone took their shop vac, put some water in it (about a gallon), added some dish soap and then just went to town sucking them up.  I think the soap just helps if their stink is released.  So, I begged hubby to put together the shop vac that has been sitting in the box for about a year.  He did and now my shop vac is going to be a permanent part of my living room.  I think I’ve sucked up about 10 so far.   There has been no stink because the shop vac has a good seal.  Tom has promised to empty and rinse out the shop vac every few days.  I’ve heard that they stay “active” until the first frost … after that they dormant for the winter so my shop vac will have a break till spring when the ones that made it into the house will arise and cause havoc again trying to get out to lay their eggs.

Did I mention how much I do not like these nasty little creatures?????  I’m a firm believer in all living things are God’s creatures, but I seriously think these bugs are a mutation of something else.  A God that created such beauty wouldn’t do this to us.  Ick, ick, ick, ick!!!  If a nuclear bomb would go off tomorrow, I think the cockroaches would have friends to survive with them … the dreaded stink bug!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 09/22/2010 7:09 pm

    Stink bugs are usually found close to a certain tree, but for the life of me I can’t remember the name of the tree, it actually attracts them. Check the internet, it may say something about that, we had one in our backyard about 20 plus years ago and when we cut the tree down, the stink bugs left.

Leave a Reply

